CiE 2024 First Call for Papers

Computability in Europe 2024
Twenty years of theoretical and practical synergies

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
July 08-12, 2024

Submission link:

Deadline for article submission: February 10, 2024 (AOE)
Notification of acceptance: April 20, 2024
Final versions due: May 1, 2024
Deadline for informal presentations submission: May 15, 2024 (The notifications of acceptance for informal presentations will be sent a few days after submission)
Early registration before: May 20, 2024
Conference: July 08-12, 2024

CiE 2024 will be an anniversary event. It is the 20th conference organized by CiE (Computability in Europe), in the same place as the first edition, Amsterdam.

CiE is a European association of mathematicians, logicians, computer scientists, philosophers, physicists and others interested innew developments in computability and their underlying significance for the real world.

Previous meetings have taken place in Amsterdam (2005), Swansea (2006), Siena (2007), Athens (2008), Heidelberg (2009), Ponta Delgada (2010), Sofia (2011), Cambridge (2012), Milan (2013), Budapest (2014), Bucharest (2015), Paris (2016), Turku (2017), Kiel (2018), Durham (2019), Salerno (2020, virtually), Ghent (2021, virtually), Swansea (2022) and Batumi (2023).

Matthew Harrison-Trainor (University of Illinois Chicago)
Sonja Smets (University of Amsterdam)

Arnold Beckmann (Swansea University)
Rod Downey (Victoria University of Wellington)
Elvira Mayordomo (University of Zaragoza)
Alexandre Miquel (Universidad de la RepĂşblica)
Monika Seisenberger (Swansea University)
Mariya Soskova (University of Wisconsin–Madison)

There will be 6 special sessions, including:
– Computable aspects of symbolic dynamics and tilings (chairs: Benjamin Hellouin and Ilkka Torma)
– Algorithmic randomness and Kolmogorov complexity session (chairs: Rupert Hölzl abd Denis Hirschfeldt)
– Bio-inspired Computation (BiC)
– History and Philosophy of Computing (HaPoC)

Other topics of the special sessions will be announced soon.

The CiE conferences serve as an interdisciplinary forum for research in all aspects of computability, foundations of computer science, logic, and theoretical computer science, as well as the interplay of these areas with practical issues in computer science andwith other disciplines such as biology, mathematics, philosophy, or physics.

THE PROGRAM COMMITTEE cordially invites all researchers, European and non-European, to submit their papers in all areas related tothe above for presentation at the conference and inclusion in the proceedings of CiE 2024 at

Papers submitted to the conference proceedings should represent original work, not simultaneously submitted to another journal or conference with formal proceedings.
The Program Committee will rigorously review and select submitted papers. Accepted papers will be published as a proceedings volume in the Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) series from Springer-Verlag.

Papers to be considered in the conferences proceedings must be submitted in PDF format, using the LNCS style (available at and must have a maximum of 12 pages, including references but excluding a possible appendix in which one can include proofs and other additional material. Papers building bridges between different parts of the research community are particularly welcome.

Continuing the tradition of past CiE conferences, we invite researchers to present informal presentations of their recent work. A proposal for an informal presentation must be submitted via e-mail (, using the LNCS style file (available at, and be 1 page long; a brief description of the results suffices and an abstract is not required. Informal presentations will not be published in the LNCS conference proceedings. Results presented as informal presentations at CiE 2024 may appear or may have appeared in other conferences with formal proceedings and/or in journals.

Contributed papers will be selected from submissions received by the PROGRAM COMMITTEE consisting of:

Bahareh Afshari (University of Amsterdam & University of Gothenburg)
Nathalie Aubrun (CNRS, Université Paris-Saclay)
Marie-Pierre Béal (Université Gustave Eiffel)
Benno van den Berg (University of Amsterdam)
Sebastian Berndt (University of LĂĽbeck)
Patricia Bouyer-Decitre (CNRS)
Jin-Yi Cai (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
Barbara Csima (University of Waterloo)
Gianluca Della Vedova (UniversitĂ  degli Studi di Milano-Bicocca)
Leah Epstein (University of Haifa)
Gilda Ferreira (Universidade Aberta)
Yannick Foster (INRIA, Nantes)
Lorenzo Galeotti (Amsterdam University College)
Mathieu Hoyrup (INRIA, LORIA, Nancy)
Jarkko Kari (University of Turku)
Julia Knight (University of Notre-Dame)
Susana Ladra (Universidade de A Coruña)
Timo Lang (Technische Universität Wien)
Karen Lange (Wellesley College)
Florin Manea (University of Göttingen)
Alexander Melnikov (Victoria University of Wellington)
Alberto Naibo (Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne)
Ludovic Patey (CNRS, Université Paris-Cité co-Chair)
Elaine Pimentel (University College London co-chair)
CristĂłbal Rojas (Universidad CatĂłlica)
Viola Schiaffonati (Politecnico di Milano)
Paul Shafer (University of Leeds)
Reed Solomon (University of Connecticut)
Andreas Weiermam (Ghent University)

We are very happy to announce that within the framework of the Women in Computability program, we are able to offer some grants for junior women researchers who want to participate in CiE 2024. Applications for this grant should be sent to Lorenzo Galeotti <>, before May 15, 2024 and include a short cv (at most 2 pages) and contact information for an academic reference. Preference will be given to junior women researchers who are presenting a paper (including informal presentations) at CiE 2024.

The event will be held in the Amsterdam University College academic building located at Amsterdam Science Park.

We are grateful for support from the University of Amsterdam.

Bahareh Afshari (University of Amsterdam & University of Gothenburg)
Luis Aguilar Suarez (Amsterdam University College)
Benno van der Berg (University of Amsterdam)
Andrea De Domenico (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam)
Tamara Dobler (Amsterdam University College)
Lorenzo Galeotti (Amsterdam University College — chair)
Yurii Khomskii (Amsterdam University College)
Mattia Panettiere (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam)
Benjamin Rin (Universiteit Utrecht)